Shield and Friendship Trophy Results (2022/23 Season)

July 6, 2023

On Sunday, January 1, 2023, the Bermuda Football Association (BFA) kicked off the new year with two cup competition finals. Finalist from both the First and Premier Divisions met at Somerset Cricket Club to see who would be the title champions this season.

In the Shield Trophy competition, Young Men’s Social Club were looking to win the title for a second time. The only time the Bluebirds have won the title was during the 1968-69 season. They came close during the 2020-21 season against Wolves Sports Club.

Depending on whether you call them Paget Community Club or Paget Football Club, the Lions were looking to secure the trophy for the third time. They have champions in the 1995-96 and 2005-05 seasons before.

During the match, Paget Football Club led the game for the majority of play time. Young Men’s Social Club came back with 2 quick goals late in the second half.

But, it wasn’t enough to be victorious. With a final score of 2-3, the Paget Football Club lifted the trophy and are the 2022-23 Shield Trophy Champions.

Goal Scorers

  • Paget Football Club: Antwan Russell (22’, 28’), Omari Tucker (75’)
  • Young Men’s Social Club: Jinairo Johnson (77’), David Jones Jr (88’ - pen)

In the Friendship Trophy competition, North Village Community Club (NVCC Rams) were not looking to repeat their last meeting against Pembroke Hamilton Club (PHC Zebras) during the 2017-18 season. The Rams last won the title was during the 2011-12 season defeating Somerset Cricket Club.

Out of 18 appearances before Sunday, PHC Zebras have been the Champions a record 12 times. Their last victory was in the 2018-19 season over Western Stars Sports Club (Dandy Town).

During the match, both sides struggled to touch net. This left  many to wonder if the match would go in extra time or penalties to reach a final score. The captain, Marco Warren, scored a penalty. The full time score of 0-1 gave Pembroke Hamilton Club the victory and they are the 2022-23 Friendship Trophy Champions.

Goal Scorers

  • Pembroke Hamilton Club: Marco Warren (67’ - pen)
Youth, Sport, and Recreation Newsletter- October 2020
All News

Featured News