Celebration of Bermuda's Senior Men and Women Football Stars

July 6, 2023

The Bermuda Football Association (BFA) hosted the 2022-2023 Season BFA Awards on Saturday, April 22, 2023, to honor the outstanding performers in different divisions. The event was held to recognize players, coaches, and referees who have contributed significantly to the sport's development in Bermuda.

This year's event was an exciting one, as we honored some of the most talented and hardworking athletes in Bermuda's football community. We're thrilled to have you join us as we celebrate their achievements and contributions to the sport.

Click below to view the full image galleries

Here are the winners of the awards held on Saturday, April 22, 2023:

Leading Goal Scorer

Pictured (Left to Right): Antwan Russell (Paget Football Club), Donovan Thompson (X-Road Warriors Football Club), Symira Lowe-Darrell (Somerset Cricket Club) - Not Pictured: Teyah Lindo (Footy Queens)

The leading goalscorer award was given to players who scored the most goals in their respective divisions. Antwan Russell from Paget FC won the award in the First Division, while Donovan Thompson from X-Roads WFC took home the prize in the Premier Division. In the Women's Division, Teyah Lindo from Footy Queens and Symira Lowe-Darrell from Somerset CC shared the award.

Defensive Player of the Year

Pictured (Left to Right): Julian Carpenter (Paget FC), Mark Steede (President, Devonshire Recreation Club), Jaylon Bather (Pembroke Hamilton Club) - Not Pictured: K'Xiyae Gibbons (WSSC - Dandy Town)

The defensive player award recognized players who excelled in their roles as defenders in their respective divisions. Julian Carpenter from Paget FC was named the best defensive player in the First Division, Jaylon Bather from PHC won the award in the Premier Division, and K'Xiyae Gibbons from WSSC (Dandy Stars) was recognized in the Women's Division.

Goalkeeper of the Year

Pictured (Left to Right): Sharifa Crockwell (Footy Queens), Mike McGrath (President, Bermuda Athletic Association), Kenny Thompson on behalf of Detre Bell (North Village Community Club) - Not Pictured: Kwenzi Cann (Young Men's Social Club)

The goalkeeper award was presented to players who performed exceptionally well as goalkeepers in their respective divisions and earned the 'safe hands' award. Kwensi Cann from Young Men's Social Club won the award in the First Division, Detre Bell from North Village Community Club took home the prize in the Premier Division, and Sharifa Crockwell from Footy Queens was named the best goalkeeper in the Women's Division.

Fair Play Team

Pictured (Left to Right): Tina Wall (St. George's Cricket Club), Neil Paynter (President, St. George's Cricket Club), Ethan Fubler (Captain, Somerset Bridge Recreation Club), Robert Emmett (Club Secretary, Robin Hood Football Club)

The fair play award was given to clubs that exhibited excellent sportsmanship during the season. Somerset Bridge Recreation Club won the award in the First Division, Robin Hood in the Premier - Men's Division, and St. George's CC in the Premier - Women's Division.

Young Player of the Year

Pictured (Left to Right): Blaze Hall (St. George's Cricket Club), Tracey Seymour on behalf of Jya Ratteray-Smith (Somerset Cricket Club), Lloyd Christopher (President, Bermuda Referees Association), Jamie Ramsey on behalf of Zaire Weller (President, Paget Football Club) - Not Pictured: Jya Ratteray-Smith, Zaire Weller

The young player of the year award recognized young talents who showed promise and potential in their respective divisions. Zaire Weller from Paget FC won the award in the First Division, Blaze Hall from St. George's CC was named the best young player in the Premier Division, and Jya Ratteray-Smith from Somerset CC won the award in the Women's Division.

Coach of the Year

Pictured (Left to Right): Robert Bean (Pembroke Hamilton Club), KyJuan Smith (President, Hamilton Parish Workmen's Club), Winston Trott (Pembroke Hamilton Club) - Not Pictured: Michael Smith (Young Men's Social Club)

The coach of the year award recognized coaches who led their teams to success during the season. Michael Smith from Young Men's Social Club won the award in the First Division, Winston Trott from PHC took home the prize in the Premier Division, and Robert Bean from PHC was named the best coach in the Women's Division.

Referee of the Year

Pictured (Left to Right): Lloyd Christopher on behalf of Satia Burchall and Stefan Maybury (President, Bermuda Referees Association), Craig Outerbridge (Vice President, Young Men's Social Club), Isaiah O'Brien (Youth Referee of the Year) - Not Pictured: Satia Burchall (Young Referee of the Year), Stefan Maybury (Referee of the Year)

Referees play a crucial role in ensuring the beautiful game of football is played fairly and safely. They have the difficult task of upholding the laws of the game and making difficult decisions in real-time. The referee of the year award recognizes the immense effort and dedication that referees put into their work to ensure that every match is played fairly and within the rules. It is a testament to their hard work and perseverance, and it highlights the importance of their role in the sport. Congratulations to Isaiah O'Brien, Satia Burchall, and Stefan Maybury for their outstanding performance during the season and for being recognized as the top referees in the Youth Referee of the Year, Young Referee of the Year, and Referee of the Year categories, respectively. Their commitment and passion for the game are an inspiration to all, and we thank them for their invaluable contributions to the sport.

Player of the Year (MVP)

Pictured (Left to Right): Antwan Russell (Paget Football Club), Michael Trott (President, Pembroke Hamilton Club), Marco Warren (Pembroke Hamilton Club) - Not Pictured: Dominique Richardson (Footy Queens)

Winning the Player of the Year award is one of the highest honors that a football player can receive. It signifies not only exceptional skill and talent but also consistent hard work and dedication throughout the entire season. It means that the winner has stood out among their peers as the best of the best and has left an indelible mark on the game. The Player of the Year award recognizes the immense effort that players put into their craft, both on and off the pitch. It is a testament to their commitment, passion, and perseverance, and highlights their invaluable contributions to the sport. Congratulations to Antwan Russell (First Division), Marco Warren (Premier Division - Men), and Dominique Richardson (Premier Division - Women) for their exceptional performances throughout the season, and for being named the best players in their respective divisions. They have set the standard for excellence in football, and their achievements are a true inspiration to all.

Order of Merit

Pictured (Left to Right): John Doran, Kevin Anderson, Josef Gooden, Esten Curtis

This year's Order of Merit Recipients are:

  • Josef Gooden
  • Kevin Anderson
  • Esten Curtis
  • John Doran
  • Calvin Dill

The 2022-2023 BFA Senior Awards ceremony was a wonderful celebration of the exceptional talent and hard work that was on display throughout the season. The winners of each category and division should be incredibly proud of their accomplishments, and their dedication to the sport is truly inspiring. We extend our warmest congratulations to all the winners, as well as to all the teams and players who participated in the Senior Men's and Women's seasons for 2022-2023. Your passion, sportsmanship, and commitment to excellence have made this season a truly remarkable one, and we look forward to seeing what the future holds for Bermuda football. Congratulations once again, and well done on a fantastic season!

Click here to view this year's program and the list of nominees.

Youth, Sport, and Recreation Newsletter- October 2020
All News

Featured News